Wednesday, 16 March 2016

Glass Prism - Poe Through The Glass Prism- 1969 US

The group originally formed as 'The El Caminoes' in the early 60s.The group was comprised of George Fox (piano and vocals), Steve Bond (drums), Jim Shrader (saxophone and bass) Tom Varano (lead guitar) and Carl Siracuse (guitar and organ).
George Fox and Jim Shrader moved elsewhere after high-school and left the group.
Steve Bond died in a car crash in 1966 and was replaced by Rick Richards.
With the addition of bassist and singer Augie Christiano, the official Glass Prism lineup was complete.
The group signed a two-record deal with RCA in 1969 who requested a new name for the band. Christiano had the idea to record a concept album based on lyrics by Edgar Allen Poe and the band took its new name from their debut album title "Poe Through The Glass Prism".(Discogs)
From their first album on RCA Victor "Poe Through The Glass Prism" (LSP-4201), i chose two songs, "The Raven" and "Eldorado".

-by dj fanis: here

No comments: